Home > Software > Testing > Manual-Testing
Interview Questions   Tutorials   Discussions   Programs   Videos   

Manual-Testing - What are the Type of CMM Levels? Explain Each Level.

asked marvit October 7, 2014 12:25 AM  

What are the Type of CMM Levels? Explain Each Level.


1 Answers

answered By shallu   0  

The Capability Maturity Model (CMM) is a development model created after study of data collected from organizations that contracted with the U.S. Department of Defense, who founded the research. The term "maturity" relates to the degree of formality and optimization of processes, from adhoc practices, to formally defined steps, to managed result metrics, to active optimization of the processes. Levels There are five levels defined along the continuum of the model and, according to the SEI: "Predictability, effectiveness, and control of an organization's software processes are believed to improve as the organization moves up these five levels. While not rigorous, the empirical evidence to date supports this belief 1. Initial (chaotic, ad hoc, individual heroics) - the starting point for use of a new or undocumented repeat process. 2. Repeatable - the process is at least documented sufficiently such that repeating the same steps may be attempted. 3. Defined - the process is defined/confirmed as a standard business process, and decomposed to levels 0, 1 and 2 (the last being Work Instructions). 4. Managed - the process is quantitatively managed in accordance with agreed-upon metrics. 5. Optimizing - process management includes deliberate process optimization/improvement. Within each of these maturity levels are Key Process Areas which characterize that level, and for each such area there are five factors: goals, commitment, ability, measurement, and verification. These are not necessarily unique to CMM, representing — as they do — the stages that organizations must go through on the way to becoming mature. The model provides a theoretical continuum along which process maturity can be developed incrementally from one level to the next. Skipping levels is not allowed/feasible. Level 1 - Initial (Chaotic) It is characteristic of processes at this level that they are (typically) undocumented and in a state of dynamic change, tending to be driven in an ad hoc, uncontrolled and reactive manner by users or events. This provides a chaotic or unstable environment for the processes. Level 2 - Repeatable It is characteristic of processes at this level that some processes are repeatable, possibly with consistent results. Process discipline is unlikely to be rigorous, but where it exists it may help to ensure that existing processes are maintained during times of stress. Level 3 - Defined It is characteristic of processes at this level that there are sets of defined and documented standard processes established and subject to some degree of improvement over time. These standard processes are in place (i.e., they are the AS-IS processes) and used to establish consistency of process performance across the organization. Level 4 - Managed It is characteristic of processes at this level that, using process metrics, management can effectively control the AS-IS process (e.g., for software development ). In particular, management can identify ways to adjust and adapt the process to particular projects without measurable losses of quality or deviations from specifications. Process Capability is established from this level. Level 5 - Optimizing It is a characteristic of processes at this level that the focus is on continually improving process performance through both incremental and innovative technological changes/improvements. At maturity level 5, processes are concerned with addressing statistical common causes of process variation and changing the process (for example, to shift the mean of the process performance) to improve process performance. This would be done at the same time as maintaining the likelihood of achieving the established quantitative process-improvement objectives. Critique The model was originally intended to evaluate the ability of government contractors to perform a software project. It has been used for and may be suited to that purpose, but critics pointed out that process maturity according to the CMM was not necessarily mandatory for successful software development. Software process framework The software process framework documented is intended to guide those wishing to assess an organization's or project's consistency with the Key Process Areas. For each maturity level there are five checklist types: Type Description Policy Describes the policy contents and KPA goals recommended by the Key Process Areas. Standard Describes the recommended content of select work products described in the Key Process Areas. Process Describes the process information content recommended by the Key Process Areas. These are refined into checklists for: • Roles, entry criteria, inputs, activities, outputs, exit criteria, reviews and audits, work products managed and controlled, measurements, documented procedures, training, and tools Procedure Describes the recommended content of documented procedures described in the Key Process Areas. Level overview Provides an overview of an entire maturity level. These are further refined into checklists for: • Key Process Areas purposes, goals, policies, and standards; process descriptions; procedures; training; tools; reviews and audits; work products; measurements

   add comment

Your answer

Join with account you already have



Ready to start your tutorial with us? That's great! Send us an email and we will get back to you as soon as possible!